Typographers for Designers- Jonathon Barnbrook

Leave it the British to one up American typefaces.

That’s what Barnbrook did on his site, Virusfonts. The difficult thing was choosing which typeface that was amongst my favorite or most hated cause it was so packed and detailed. To the result I didn’t even try to write this post. So when in doubt, close your eyes and randomly click an area that’s hopefully not the close button and go from there. Fortunately, I came away with this beautiful typeface to post from.

Summary: 

“The DejaVu fonts are a font family based on the Vera Fonts. Its purpose is to provide a wider range of characters while maintaining the original look and feel through the process of collaborative development.”

“The Virus DejaVu project was conceived as a key element of the design for the visual identities for the Ukrainian cultural centre, Mystetskyi Arsenal and the first Kyiv Biennale of contemporary art, Arsenale 2012. Barnbrook’s decision to develop a pre-existing open source font project as the typographic bedrock of these visual identities was an active acknowledgement of contemporary developments in digital technology and creative online communities. An approach that placed the notion of collaboration ahead of refined aesthetics.”

My Description

I personally enjoy looking at this font. I mean the title itself speaks European or European-based locations. Now it did seem a little boring the first time I looked at it, so I had to see full sentences and paragraphs to convince me otherwise. Now I’m not fully convinced that this is the font or typeface that blows my mind, but it’s definitely one I’ll come to respect when applied by other means.

References

http://www.virusfonts.com/fonts/deja-vu

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DejaVu_fonts

http://dejavu-fonts.org/wiki/Main_Page

Leave a Reply

